WHAT HAPPENED TO THE SILVER LAKE DAILY NEWSLETTER that was filled with daily news stories and used to attract hundreds of readers? Click on the ??? link for the story.
CURRENT CONTACT INFORMATION: 585-483-8435; Email: greg.franklin.perry.ny@gmail.com; Mail: G. Franklin, PO Box 19, Silver Lake NY 14549.

Friday, February 18, 2022

Entry Deadline is May 1st:
The Landmark Society of WNY is Seeking Nominations for the
2022 Preservation Awards

What do an iconic Art Deco skyscraper, a fountain topped by a bear, a sheep barn-turned-craft brewery, and a peppermint museum have in common? All were recipients of Preservation Awards from The Landmark Society of Western New York in 2021.

Each year, The Landmark Society presents awards to projects, individuals, and organizations who, through their dedication and hard work, have contributed to historic preservation in the organization’s nine-county area.

The Landmark Society’s Awards Committee is now seeking nominations for its 2022 Preservation Awards. Nominations are welcome from Monroe, Genesee, Livingston, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates counties.

Below is a list of the award categories, along with descriptions and criteria for each award. If you know a project, individual, or organization deserving of any of these awards, visit https://www.landmarksociety.org/awards to download a nomination form or fill out the online nomination form by Sunday, May 1, 2022. The Awards Committee will begin reviewing submissions at its May meeting. If you have any questions, please contact Becky Timmons by email at btimmons@landmarksociety.org or by phone at (585) 537-5962.

Barber Conable Award -- Recognizes a large-scale rehabilitation of a historic building in our region completed within the last two years, possibly using the Federal Investment Tax Credit program. Old fabric should be sympathetically maintained and carefully rehabilitated. New construction, if any, should be compatible and of high authentic quality. This award was created to honor Congressman Barber Conable of Alexander, Genesee County, who supported the establishment of the Federal Investment Tax Credit Program for the rehabilitation of historic, income-producing buildings.

Award of Merit -- Applies to projects similar to those eligible for the above mentioned Conable Award, but of more modest scope. The award is given for a sympathetic rehabilitation of an architecturally significant building, structure, object or site in our nine-county region completed within the past two years. Candidacy may be enhanced if the project is historically significant or if it strengthens its neighborhood. The award cannot be given to single-family residences.

Stewardship Award -- Recognizes an individual or organization that has provided continued care of and commitment to the preservation of an architecturally and/or historically significant public property over a period of years. “Care” can include appropriate changes to the building fabric. Eligible properties include religious, educational, not-for-profit, commercial or government buildings, structures, objects or sites.

Historic Home Award -- Recognizes owners of private residences for their continued care of and commitment to the preservation of an architecturally significant house over a minimum of seven (7) years. “Care” may include appropriate rehabilitation and/or sympathetic new additions according to need. Thoughtful rehabilitation/restoration of the interior and/or significant features of a historical landscape may enhance the qualit y of the nomination. The seven-year criteria may be waived in special circumstances as deemed appropriate by the awards committee.

Historic Landscape Award -- Recognizes and encourages the preservation, restoration, rehabilitation and stewardship of historically significant landscapes in The Landmark Society’s nine-county region. The recipient may be either individual(s) or an organization.

Special Citation -- Provides recognition for projects that do not fit into other categories or recognizes the accomplishments in the field of historic preservation of an outstanding individual or group.

Traditional Trades -- Recognizes an individual working in the traditional trades for his/her exceptional knowledge of historic preservation techniques and advocacy for historic buildings. These trades include, but are not limited to: stained glass, woodworking, pipe organ building, windows, masonry, roofing and plaster.

Paul Malo Preservation Advocacy Award -- Recognizes an individual who has been an outstanding advocate for historic preservation in their community. Established in honor of the late Paul Malo, Syracuse University professor, architect, historian, award-winning author, and preservation advocate, whose passionate advocacy for New York’s historic resources extended over six decades.

Jean France Special Achievement Award --Recognizes accomplishments of an individual that have occurred over a lengthy period of time. The award was recently renamed in honor of Jean R. France, Landmark Society trustee, accomplished architectural historian, passionate preservationist, community advocate and long-tim e member and chair of the Preservation Awards Committee. Jean passed away in early 2021.

Blood, Sweat, and Tears Award -- Recognizes building owners who have physically engaged in the preservation and restoration of their property through self-education and countless hours of do-it-yourself work. The work on the building does not have to be complete but should be mindful of the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation and demonstrate substantial self-performed long-term care.

Small Business Award -- Recognizes small businesses that occupy historic commercial buildings and have demonstrated their commitment to preservation via the care, repair and/or long-term operation at these sites.

The Landmark Society of Western New York, Inc. is one of the oldest and most active preservation organizations in America, serving nine Western New York counties. Formed in 1937, The Landmark Society continues to protect the unique architectural heritage of our region and promote preservation and planning principles that foster healthy and sustainable communities. For additional information about The Landmark Society, visit www.landmarksociety.org. The Landmark Society programs are made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Genuine commenting is warmly welcomed--Advertising is not welcome in the Comment Section and will be removed without further explanation.