Real Old Timers
For the Weekend Special, click on:
(NE corner SLI)
Frank Bear's House
Ye Old Hall of Philosophy, circa 1889, (later Epworth Inn) before it was made into a 3-story building by raising it up and building a new ground floor--a popular method of adding space around the turn of the 19th Century. It stood where Wilmott Lodge and the Asbury Retreat Center offices are now located--all of which was part of the Silver Lake Assembly (now SLI) before the SLI sold the property on which the Asbury buildings stood to the WNY Methodist Conference of which Asbury was a dynamic part.
Harlow Cottage in Mid Winter; year unknown.
Epworth Hall was built in 1892 after our grandfathers
and forefathers studied at least two different architect
drawings, choosing the last one over the first one.
This 1920 photo has four words on the bottom edge, the first three of which seem to be "Silver Lake County ____" with the last word not clear enough to decipher unless one of our readers can do it for us!
One reader suggested "Silver Lake Country Club"
the 2017 Silver Lake Experience.